Straight From the President

Andrea Ezell is a junior on the volleyball team this fall. She will be president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), which helps give student-athletes a greater voice in the athletic department. Andrea will blog each month to let fans and the public know about what’s going on around the athletic department from the student-athlete’s viewpoint.

 

As the day of my trip to New Orleans approaches I am getting overwhelmed with excitement and becoming more anxious.  I still have to go buy new khakis, a couple new polos and pack my bags.  Most of my anxiety comes from wanting to make a good first impression on the other members of SAAC and the schools they represent.  My need to impress them stems from my want to ensure that Georgia State is viewed in the highest regards by other schools, and I can do my part to ensure we gain their respect.

From my understanding, upon my arrival in the beautiful city of New Orleans, or Naw’lins as I would say, I will head to the Superdome and get right to work.  On the first day, I will mainly be attending different meetings, but it won’t be all work and no play.  Although I’ll still be ‘on the clock’ I will be having fun and interacting with the other school representatives.

This is what I’m most excited about.  I really want to know how much of an impact SAAC is having on campuses nationwide, and what these successful schools are doing to have such an impact.  I am also curious to find out what methods they use to get their team representatives more involved.

I think that is one of the biggest problems that I am facing now as President; getting my Board more involved.  Without an involved Board, I don’t feel like I can convey my goals and plans to the rest of the student body.  Although their participation has been improving the past two years I’ve been in SAAC, I know that the bright and talented members of the Board this year are capable of propelling Georgia State athletics to a new level.

Once I get back to GSU with all of this new information it will be on!  I can’t wait to share all of the new ideas with my Board and start brainstorming together on ways to push our organization forward and continue getting the word out about GSU Athletics.

–Andrea Ezell

This entry was posted in Georgia State Athletics, InsideGSUSports, SAAC, Sun Belt Conference, volleyball. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Straight From the President

  1. No fluff. New Orleans is a filthy disgusting place. Best of luck returning unscathed.

Comments are closed.