BlueMan Begins His Panther Quest

InsideGSUSports will have a special guest blogger throughout the 2013-14 academic year as BlueMan gives his thoughts on all things GSU Athletics. Daniel Wilson, aka BlueMan, has set a goal of attending more than 100 GSU sporting events this year. It is a lofty goal, but we are all about lofty goals and high expectations when it comes to this blog. BlueMan sat down with InsideGSUSports before he prepared for event No. 1 of the season – Women’s Soccer vs. College of Charleston on Aug. 16.

BlueManQ: How long have you been going to Georgia State sporting events? What got you started?

A: The first GSU sporting event I ever attended was the Clark Atlanta football game in 2011, but that was it for the year.  I attended three more football games last season, but I didn’t really get into it until last year when, you know, I donned the suit.  As for what got me started, well, I could easily write an entire post about that, but in short, a few words involving school spirit allowed the idea to dawn on me.

Q: When was the first time you went to an event as BlueMan?

A: My grand debut in the suit came in the ODU game last year.  Sure the Panthers got blown out and there weren’t very many in attendance, but it was still a fun game to watch. I definitely had a blast that day.  I won a free menu item at Willy’s in a sombrero hat challenge, and many pictures were taken too.

Q: Can you really see and breath well inside the outfit?

A: Haha, I get asked that a lot every time I wear it.  Not only can I see and breathe well, I can also drink water, even with the mask covering my mouth.   It’s like looking through a blue screen though, because, well, the material is blue, and it presses on my nose too.

Q: How many events did you go to last year, and do you have a goal for this year?

A: Including a viewing party for the Tennessee football game, I went to around 46.  As for this year, I definitely plan to attend more than that.  Last year, my friend Nick made it to at least 101.  That is the number I will be shooting for.

Q: What events are you looking forward to the most this year?

A: Without a doubt, I am most looking forward to the football and basketball games.  Those were the events I enjoyed the most.  Specifically, I’m most looking forward to both the home opener against Samford and the ‘Bama game for football, while for basketball, I can’t wait to catch the games against the SEC teams as well as the Sun Belt Tournament in New Orleans.

Q: Are there any road trips in your future this year?

A: I’m still waiting on the student deal for tickets to the ‘Bama game to come out.  I definitely plan on traveling to Tuscaloosa for that, though.  I also plan on traveling to New Orleans for the Sun Belt tourney.  All the other potential trips will hinge on what life throws at me, but I will definitely make the effort.

This entry was posted in BlueMan, Georgia State Athletics, InsideGSUSports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BlueMan Begins His Panther Quest

  1. To answer BlueMan’s question about student tickets for the Alabama game, there are no student packages, however, students, along with all fans, may purchase tickets for the game now by visiting the GSU Box Office or by calling 1-866-GA-STATE.

Comments are closed.